15 HOPEFULLY INSPIRING QUOTES

I cannot really bring myself to do another Trump related blog, at least not today. So here are 15 hopefully inspiring quotes from the likes of Chris Rock, Stewart Lee, Shaykh Hamza Yusuf, and 5 from arguably one of our greatest living philosophers Taylor Swift.  I am as yet unsure as to exactly what these quotes will inspire you to do but, as always, enjoy!

Taylor

Once you realize all the random events in your life are God you will live a much easier life. We spend all our time trying to control all these things that happen to us, it’s bullshit. The plane you’re flying goes down? Out of your control. God gives you cancer? I got no control over that. Did God give me cancer? You bet your ass God gave me cancer. You know, do you think God would have given me cancer if I’d asked for it? Uh, I don’t think so ’cause I begged him to take it away and guess what? No control over that, either. – from the movie Flight (2012)

Don’t worry. You may think you’ll never get over it. But you also thought it would last forever. – Taylor Swift

Every accident, properly viewed, is an opportunity. – from the movie Bridge Of Spies (2015)

Giving up doesn’t always mean you’re weak, sometimes you’re just strong enough to let go. – Taylor Swift

I was on tour and I was in Sheffield and I was walking along the main street in Sheffield, Fargate, and I saw two guys holding up big cardboard placards and one of them said, “Would you like to download thousands of films now from Sky?” And the other one said, “Would you like to learn the truth about Islam?” And I thought, “Oh, decisions, decisions.” – Stewart Lee

If you haven’t contemplated murder, you ain’t been in love. If you haven’t seriously thought about killing a motherf***er, you ain’t been in love. If you haven’t had a can of rat poison in your hand and looked at it for 45 minutes straight, you ain’t been in love. If you haven’t bought a shovel and a bag and a rug to roll their ass up in, you ain’t been in love. If you haven’t practiced your alibi in front of the mirror, you ain’t been in love. And the only thing that’s stopped you from killing this motherfucker was a episode of CSI: ‘Oh man, they thorough. I better make up. They might catch my ass.’ – Chris Rock

It isn’t history that makes heroes, it is heroes that make history. – Taylor Swift

The great genius of our religion, and one of the great truths of our Prophet, is that he came as a mercy to everyone. And this is why he created multi–ethnic multi–cultural societies. He had all types of people: he had Persians, he had Romans, he had Africans, he had Arabs. He had all the different Arab tribes and he brought them into a fraternity of rahma (mercy). And he had Jews and Christians and he honored them and treated them. When the Christians of Najran came he honoured them in his mosque, he spoke to them kindly. – Shaykh Hamza Yusuf

The more awareness of Allah you have, the stiller you become, the stiller your soul becomes. You don’t have the agitation, the disquietude that happens with people that are distant from Allah. – Shaykh Hamza Yusuf

There are two ways you can go with pain: You can let it destroy you or you can use it as fuel to drive you. – Taylor Swift

We [Muslims] say that what is out there is inside, that man is a microcosm. Imam Ali said that you think that you’re an insignificant thing and yet in you is the entire universe, that we are the microcosm, and one of the things that I see that we’re losing on the planet, we’re not losing cockroaches, we’re not losing rats, they’re thriving. But we’re losing eagles, we’re losing lions and tigers and leopards, we’re losing these qualities in our self that are majestic and beautiful, and what’s remaining is the foulness and the filth…if people want to clean up the environment they have to clean up themselves because the environment is a reflection of what’s inside of us. – Shaykh Hamza Yusuf, from A Conversation With Miroslav Volf And Hamza Yusuf

What I’ve learned is not to change who you are, because eventually you’re going to run out of new things to become. – Taylor Swift

Chris Rock

When I hear people talk about juggling, or the sacrifices they make for their children, I look at them like they’re crazy, because ‘sacrifice’ infers that there was something better to do than being with your children. And I’ve never been with my kids and gone, ‘Man, I wish I was on my stage right now.’ I’ve never been with my kids and gone, ‘Man, it’d be so great if I was on a movie set right now.’ But I’ve been doing a movie and wished that I was with my kids, I’ve been on tour and wished that I was with my kids. Being with my kids is the best, most fun thing, it’s a privilege. It’s not something I call a sacrifice. – Chris Rock

You should try to align your character with the character of the Prophet, so you follow his actual sunnah. – Shaykh Hamza Yusuf

You wouldn’t throw away a diamond to pick up a rock, so in the same way don’t throw away the akhirah by chasing the dunya. – Anon

Leave a Reply

